5K round two!

Last night I went out for my run. I planned on running around 7pm but I didn’t make it out of the house until closer to 7:30. My goal for the evening was to do a 5k. I started off strong in the first 1k of my run, maybe too strong. I was a little more optimistic about how much I could run and over did it a lot, especially int he first 2 kilometers. I am excited to start going farther though with every run! I got some great running advice from a fellow Cystic her name is Emily and she is the main runner and operator for the charity I am working for this year the Rock CF Foundation. She is an amazing athlete and someone I admire very much, having her support and advise is a big motivator for me to keep working hard to fulfill my goals! Her advise to me was to run four days a week alternating days and to work in strength training on the in between days. SO I have been following that method with yesterday being my first full run, on off days I do push ups, crunches and planks. I am not the greatest at actual work outs, so it’s going to take some getting used to, but I know i will get better at it!

Here are the Garmin stats from my 5k yesterday. I am really proud to have my fastest mile to minute yet it’s just under 19 minutes! I need to be at least at 16 for my run in october, and i’m hoping to get it down to 12 for my run in November. It’s not going to be easy, but it’s going to be worth it!

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 7.31.02 AMScreen Shot 2014-06-30 at 7.30.49 AM

 

My goal tomorrow is to do another 5k maybe go a little farther. I don’t want to do to much to fast, and this 5k was pretty exhausting for me. I’ll keep working on it though!
Wish me luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

