You have to walk before you run

Image

Okay so my walk today may be nothing to brag about, but this is the first walk I have tracked. Seeing a documented time for my walk makes me excited! I finally have a way to show my progress and really compare past to present, well future pasts to future presents. I don’t have any really fancy technology that I am using, it’s just a cheap little sensor that I got from Apple. It pairs with the Nike+ iPod app, and it only cost me about $15 to order it brand new on Amazon. I haven’t tested it out a ton with this being it’s first use I did notice a couple glitchy things with it, it didn’t start tracking my walk right away and it kept resetting the pace time to zero, but that all could have been user error. I’m just really excited to be making progress! I am sure with these little devises you get what you pay for, and while I would love to buy a fitbit bracelet I just can’t see spending the money on one as a beginner.

I went on my first real walk with my Dad and his dog Bear. When I told my dad about my intentions of running a combined marathon this year he told me that he would walk and run with me. Having my dad do this with me makes me excited! We get to make progress together, even though I anticipate it taking me longer to get to the finish line I know I will make it!

Hopefully tomorrow I can go on an even longer walk. I am starting with walking to make sure that I have the lung capacity built up before I attempt any kind of faster pace movement. It doesn’t take much for me to have a coughing fit and to get winded. In the past i’ve even encountered decreased oxygen to the point that my limbs started changing colors and going numb, so I’m working on easing into it.

I am hoping that this exercise will help increase my PFT’s (Pulmonary Function Test) they’re pretty low for me and have been since around november. My PFT the last time I went in for an appointment was around 33% it would be a welcomed miracle if I could get them into the 50’s which is where they were about 2 years ago.

To hopes for progress I say, lets keep moving forward!

Leave a Reply

