The Disney effect

The Mouse and

On my way to work this morning Imagine Dragons came on the radio with their song On Top of the World. A simple 3 minute song but it brought back so many memories of being at Disney. When I would drive to work I would listen to that song because it’s impossible to have a bad day after you hear it. I’d have my windows down and the radio up driving through the Magic Kingdom gates and around the look to the cast parking lot. Sometimes it would even make its way into my earphones as I walked through the lobby of the Polynesian and to the cast break room. That song is the sound track to my Disney college program. When I first heard the song come on I thought it would make me sad and miss the home land, but it did something completely different.
I felt inspired. I just met with an advisor at the University of Michigan in Flint and I have a good tracked plan to finish my Bachelor’s degree in a couple years and the song just made me realize that I will have the opportunity to return to Disney in the future. I listened to the lyrics of the song and I realized how well they coincide with my life and it brought me so much joy to know that it wasn’t just a song I listened to at Disney, it is a song that has followed my life pattern and is leading me somewhere better. I think all we can ask for as people is the opportunity to improve and life has a funny way of putting you in the position to be better if you just accept it. The song ended just before I pulled into work and it put me in such a good mood. Sometimes all you need in the morning is a good song, and everything else will follow after.

Leave a Reply

